More About Me

Tammy Betson

Hi, My name is Tammy Betson. I am 41 years old and in those 41 years I have had animals around me in one form or another for all but 6 months (when our cat had to lodge with my sister as he wasn't allowed in our rented house). I grew up with Sophie and Sasha (our collie X's) and Wellington & Hesta the cats. I started having horse riding lessons when I was 6 years old and by 11 I was working weekends on a livery yard with 25 horses, with dogs such as Alsations and Jack Russell's living at the yard.

In 1996 I met my husband when we were studying at Merrist Wood Agricultural College doing a Practical Habitat Management course, which included animal husbandry. In 1998 I came home one day to find my husband with a stray cat, he told me he had given him some milk and tuna and now he wouldn't leave! Stoat lived with us until, sadly we lost him in 2012.

In my twenties I worked full time as a groom to some top horse riders and took my BHS, NPTC and ABRS qualifications. 


Then I had my own litter! Hazel and Jack now 14 and 17. My children have been a big part in my "animal caring" roles and so also have a wealth of animal experience. They are always on hand to lend me a hand. Especially when it comes to cuddle time with puppies and kittens! Hazel is named on my insurance policy and is able to do house sitting on her own.

In 2005 we took on Rowan, when she was 13 weeks. She was from the RSPCA from a Labrador breeder, her bitch had got with something it 


shouldn't have, so she gave the litter of 9 away. We think she is a Labrador, collie x whippet.  At 18 months she started fitting and was diagnosed with epilepsy. With a careful care plan, after 2 years I got her off her medication. She is my lamb she is slightly neurotic and suffers from anxiety so she is quite quirky! I have completed puppy/dog training courses with Rowan and entered numerous dog shows over the 10 years, winning best in show and many firsts, especially in the obedience classes.

We had our own flock of chickens and ducks for many years and our neighbours had horses, sheep, chickens and dogs, I was their regular animal carer when they needed help.

In 2010 we moved to a community farm in Cornwall. Where I got stuck in and was part of the team to care for the animals. We had dartmoor sheep, chickens, Kune kune and Gloucester old spot pigs. Having had chickens and ducks before and experience with sheep, it came naturally. The pigs were new to me. I was involved with everything from feeding to artificial insemination to birthing. We even featured in Prima magazine. My daughter and I also completed a goat course.

In 2013 we moved next door to my parents and within a couple of months picked up a couple of cats from the RSPCA, two 7 year old brothers Noggin and Ziggy. For the last few years I have been concentrating on my other business T&M Arts and Crafts, visit the website! But as this is only part time (weekends and online) I have been looking for something else. Being the animal lover I am, with my experience I have, it seemed like a natural move. So although I haven't been running AnimalCare on the Hills for long (since Mar 2016) I do have years of animal care experience.

I am fully insured and CRB checked.